Visit us on Facebook!


Seeking Common Ground,
Working for the Common Good


156 High Street, Portland, ME  04101      207-772-1918   



 In preparation for this fall's election season, the Council recently wrote to nearly 400 Maine candidates for statewide and national office, asking them to sign our "Covenant for Civil Discourse." To date, a number of candidates have responded favorably.

The Following Candidates have signed the covenant to date. (We update our list on a regular basis.)

Dist Party Salutation Title First Name Middle Name Last Name Town/City
30 D Senator James A. Boyle Gorham
20 R Mr. Eric L. Brakey Auburn
25 D Ms. Catherine Breen Falmouth
34 I Mr. Richard John Burns Berwick
14 D Mr. David W. Bustin Hallowell
15 D Representative Justin M. Chenette Saco
47 D Representative Janice E. Cooper Yarmouth
101 D Mr. James E. Davitt Hampden
45 D Mr. Dale Denno Cumberland Center
26 D Mr. G. William Diamond Windham
111 D Representative Ann E. Dorney Norridgewock
121 D Mr. Robert S. Duchesne Old Town
122 D Ms. Michelle Ann Dunphy Old Town
1 R Mr. Peter Edgecomb Caribou
91 I Representative Jeffrey Evangelos Friendship
37 D Representative Richard R. Farnsworth Portland
11 D Mr. Ryan M. Fecteau Biddeford
66 D Ms. Mary-Vienessa Fernandes Casco
147 R Mr. Larry K. Fox Presque Isle
74 D Representative Paul E. Gilbert Jay
127 D Representative Adam A. Goode Bangor
3 D Mr. Craig John Heavey Canaan
73 R Mr. Lloyd  C. Herrick Paris
120 R Mr. Norman E. Higgins Dover-Foxcroft
14 D Representative Barry J. Hobbins Saco
24 G Mr. K. Frederick Horch Brunswick
4 D Ms. Patricia Hymanson York
15 R Senator Roger J. Katz Augusta
7 D Mr. Theodore S. Koffman Bar Harbor
92 D Representative Charles B. Kruger Thomaston
134 D Representative Walter A. Kumiega Little Deer Isle
3 R Mr. Arthur Kyricos York Harbor
42 R Mr. Marc M. Lamontagne Portland
21 D Representative Nathan L. Libby Lewiston
115 R Mr. Terrence L. Magee Woodstock
25 R Ms. Cathleen A. Manchester Gray
151 D Mr. John L. Martin Eagle Lake
D Congressman Michael H. Michaud Portland
29 D Senator Rebecca J. Millett Cape Elizabeth
30 D Representative Kimberly Joan Monaghan-Derrig Cape Elizabeth
19 D Representative William F. Noon Springvale
77 R Representative Robert W. Nutting Oakland
108 R Mr. John Joseph Picchiotti Fairfield
26 D Representative Linda F. Sanborn Gorham
64 R Mr. David P. Sawicki Auburn
119 R Mr. Paul  A. Stearns Guilford
54 G Mr. Daniel Longley Stromgren Topsham
42 D Representative Peter C. Stuckey Portland
123 D Representative Ryan D. Tipping-Spitz Orono
16 D Mr. Ronald E. Usher Buxton
128 D Representative Arthur C. Verow Brewer
133 R Ms. Susan M. Walsh Blue Hill
84 D Ms. Charlotte May Warren Hallowell
3 R Senator Rodney L. Whittemore Skowhegan
148 D Mr. Alan D. Whittemore Limestone



Covenant for Civil Discourse

The Board of the Maine Council of Churches believes the fate of our democracy depends upon truthful and respectful interactions among us all, especially when we hold differing views.  To express this belief, we created and adopted a Covenant for Civil Discourse in December, 2009.  

We invite all elected officials and candidates for public office in Maine, as well as individuals, campaigns, faith communities and other organizations engaging in issues in the public square to join us in this Covenant. 

Please click here to download the document.  If you or your organization choose to sign, please return a copy to the Maine Council of Churches, so that we can list you in any public communications about this project. 

 Covenant for Civil Discourse.pdf


Event Announcement:


The Covenant for Civil Discourse was created by the Maine Council of Churches in 2009.

A copy of the text is attached: Covenant for Civil Discourse.pdf


A listing of the 80+ Maine candidates who have signed the Covenant for Civil Discourse as of September 18 2012 is attached: 2012 covenant signers as of Sept 2012.pdf


Op Ed piece in Bangor Daily News by MCC Executive Director Jill Saxby on Covenant for Civil Discourse:


Downloadable event poster: Civil Discourse poster.pdf


© Maine Council of Churches
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software